Homemade Bread!

Recently I’ve really been into the book Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day ! I just can’t rave enough about how wonderful it is to have fresh baked bread and the sense of accomplishment I feel whenever I make it. AND the added bonus that my kitchen smells wonderful! Here’s a light whole wheat loaf I made:

Whole Wheat Loaf

Whole Wheat Loaf

Sliced Bread!

Sliced Bread!

It’s called “light” because it is a mixture of whole wheat and white flours. It has a light and crunchy texture and is perfect for sandwiches. Like this one:
Veggie Sandwich

Veggie Sandwich

Mixed baby greens, avocado, cucumbers, red onions, and a lovely German Stripe heirloom tomato all from the farmer’s market.
Whole Wheat Rye Loaf

Whole Wheat Rye Loaf

This whole wheat rye loaf is delicious! Dense, nutty, with a great crust. The wonderful thing about this book is that you mix a batch of dough that then you put in the fridge and you bake as much as you need. The dough keeps in the fridge for at least a week and the more you leave it in there the more complex the flavors become. It really has revolutionized my kitchen!
Eggless Tofu Salad

Eggless Tofu Salad

This here is a fantastic sandwich on the rye bread. Eggless tofu salad (tofu, vegenaise, mustard, onion, green onion, red bellpepper, salt & pepper), heirloom tomato, cucumber, pickles, and avocado! As you can see, I’m totally into heirloom tomatoes that I’ve been getting at the farmer’s market! Here is a close-up of this great “pineapple” variety:
Heirloom Close-Up

Heirloom Close-Up

If you are like me and love fresh baked bread I highly encourage you to seek out this book. The money you’ll save in making your own bread will pay for the purchase price pronto!
9 Responses to “Homemade Bread!”


  1. 1 Mandee August 19, 2009 at 10:30 pm

    Yum yum yum! I had a major craving for eggless salad yest’day and now I’m thinking about it again! You bread and sammige looks SO good 🙂

  2. 2 Kiersten August 20, 2009 at 1:40 am

    Your bread looks perfect! There is nothing like fresh baked bread. Yum.

  3. 3 Nora August 20, 2009 at 3:10 am

    Such beautiful bread! That whole wheat rye looks divine! Great photos.

  4. 4 mihl August 20, 2009 at 7:19 am

    Those loafes look gorgeous!

  5. 5 doubledogyoga August 20, 2009 at 9:13 am

    I love that book! I got it a few months ago and I actually had to “put the book down and step away” because I was making so much bread! LOL.

  6. 6 kitchenspoon August 20, 2009 at 1:51 pm

    there is nothing like incredible bread–love the veggie sandwich photo.

  7. 7 kim g. August 26, 2009 at 1:33 am

    Your bread looks amazing! I’ve had that book on hold at the library for so long now. I can’t wait to get it!

  8. 8 ohphilippa September 1, 2009 at 11:23 pm

    hi i love the pictures you take, and there’s some really tasty looking things on here!

  9. 9 The voracious Vegan September 9, 2009 at 11:09 am

    WOW! That bread is beautiful, congratulations! I love a good sandwich and yours really look amazing. I especially love tofu salad sandwiches and anything topped with avocado and a good tomato.


Leave a Reply

