Asparagus Cashew Cheese Struedel

I’ve never made anything with phillo dough but am always amazed at the things people do with them. Well, after much contemplation, today was my day to create something with it. I decided that I wanted to use the pepper crusted cashew goat cheese that I’ve made before (recipe from VT) and some grilled veggies. I settled on grilled asparagus, and a mixture of onions, garlic, crimini mushrooms, and sundried tomatoes seasoned with some fresh rosemary and thyme.

Asparagus Cashew Cheese Struedel

Asparagus Cashew Cheese Struedel

Phillo dough is pretty simple to work with as long as you’re delicate with the sheets. Of course I ripped some but the end product still came out pretty because you just keep layering the sheets. I used a whole box from the Fillo Factory that  I found in the freezer section of Whole Foods.
Asparagus Struedel

Asparagus Struedel

I sprinked a mixture of poppy, sesame, and  caraway seeds, and coarse salt and pepper on the top.
Struedel

Struedel

After assembly I popped it in the oven at 350 for about 55 minutes. The flavors melded beautifully and overall I was very happy with the results! I wanted to do one of those posts where I take pictures of the process but once I got going, I totally forgot! I did get this kind of interesting shot of the grilled asparagus:
Grilled Asparagus

Grilled Asparagus

Til next time…
3 Responses to “Asparagus Cashew Cheese Struedel”


  1. 1 intheknowusa June 12, 2009 at 10:35 pm

    This looks absolutely GORGEOUS… I can only imagine how amazing it must have tasted!

  2. 2 Ksenia June 13, 2009 at 6:28 pm

    Yeah, it looks delicious =) The pity is that all the philo dough I find in the supermarkets is not vegan. Anyway, even vegan philo dough would not be the best treat for me: despite the fact I am vegan, I have high cholesterol (yes, it’s possible.Yay! >.<)

    Although eating a little bit "unhealthier" than it's usual for me it's not as terrible =)(your strudel looks too good xD)


  1. 1 Asparagus Strudel | Vegan.com Trackback on June 12, 2009 at 4:41 pm

Leave a Reply

