Baja Style Tofu Tacos!

So I’m not sure of it’s a Cali thing but on a hot, sunny day all I want is some cervezas and Baja Style Fish Tacos! I have been missing these immensely so I decided to take matters into my own hands! First, get your hands on some good mexican beer – I prefer Pacifico Clara – light, crisp, and delicious. Side note: if you wanna know if your alcohol is vegan check out Barnivore.  Take a pound of extra firm tofu (I use Wildwood brand)  and press it for about half an hour, pat it dry and cut roughly into “fish stick” sized pieces. Marinate it in 1 1/2 cups of beer for about another half an hour. In the meantime, mix together 1 cup of flour, 1/2 cup of cornmeal, 1 tsp. of cumin and oregano, 1/2 tsp. of onion powder, garlic powder, cayenne or some other type of chili powder, or cheat and use your favorite cajun style spice mix, and salt & pepper to taste. Once your tofu has sat in the beer for awhile go ahead and pour that beer into the dry mixture. Mix well until it has a thick pancake like consistency. You might need to add a little more beer to get the right consistency (if you still have any left at this point). Coat your tofu pieces in the batter and in a cast iron skillet or deep frying pan add enough of your favorite oil ( I use canola) to completely submerge the tofu pieces and fry them until golden brown. They should look like this:

Beer Battered Tofu

Beer Battered Tofu

I used shredded cabbage and carrots, avocado, and I made some “cheater” sauces. I took a cup of Tofutti Sour Cream   and added about a cup of chopped cilantro and 1 tbs. of lime juice. Then I took another cup of the sour cream and added 1 chipotle pepper in adobo sauce (seeded and finely minced) and a bit of the sauce until it was just the right amount of spicy. Assemble your tacos on corn tortillas, add some limes and your favorite hot sauce and you’re set!
Baja Style Tacos

Baja Style Tacos

If I may say so myself, these tacos turned out fantasic! Just like the fish tacos I remember but cruelty-free!
Beer Battered Tofu Tacos

Beer Battered Tofu Tacos

So get your cervezas ready amigos and have yourself a feast!
9 Responses to “Baja Style Tofu Tacos!”


  1. 1 a-k May 14, 2009 at 5:03 am

    That makes me want to die (in the good way)!

  2. 2 Desdemona May 18, 2009 at 5:00 pm

    I’m trying this tonight & will report back!

  3. 3 Julie Hasson May 18, 2009 at 6:49 pm

    The tacos look great!

    Are you still interested in testing recipes? If so, I need your email address.

    Thanks!

    Julie

  4. 4 wannabeavegan May 18, 2009 at 7:05 pm

    Desdemona – oh yes, please let me know how they turn out!

  5. 5 Neener Bee May 22, 2009 at 7:15 am

    Those look AMAZING!!! Oh, I want them so badly!

  6. 6 LJ June 19, 2009 at 2:32 am

    Made these last night and they were delicious!!

  7. 7 David Seng June 20, 2009 at 8:02 pm

    Made these for dinner last night and ate leftovers for lunch today. So tasty! Thanks so much for sharing!

  8. 8 Will April 20, 2010 at 4:31 am

    My gf makes some similar tacos sometimes, although with just a simple panko / chickpea flour coating and then pan-fried. I like the look of your batter style (and I love beer-battered stuff in general). Anyway, try freezing, then thawing / gently wringing out the tofu before making them sometime – I prefer the texture this way.

    http://www.runawaysquirrels.com/2008/04/dinner-vegan-fish-taco/


  1. 1 Big Booty Betty » Blog Archive » Dinner Tonight 8/11/09 Trackback on August 11, 2009 at 5:42 pm

Leave a Reply

