Vegan Pancakes, Oh My!

So today for breakfast I made pancakes from Vegan With A Vengeance. I followed the basic recipe and then decided to add some chocolate chips at the end because it was just that kinda day!

Chocolate Chip Pancakes

Chocolate Chip Pancakes

Slathered them in Earth Balance and some agave – YUM!! I made only half the recipe because I was eating alone and I got 3 nice sized pancakes but they were so good I wish I would have made more!
For dinner I made roasted sunshine squash soup. Sunshine squash is also called orange kabocha. I got it from the Hollywood Farmers’ Market which if you’ve never been, you must go. Its open year round and it is one of the biggest in Los Angeles! So for the soup I roasted the squash (split in half) in a 400 degree oven for about 45 minutes. Took it out and let it cool. In a large saucepan I added a little oil, 1 diced onion, couple cloves of garlic minced, half of a red bell pepper diced, and some grated ginger. Once sauteed, I added some veggie stock and some water (I didn’t measure!) and brought that to a boil. I added a pinch of salt & pepper, some chili powder and some nutmeg. Once it was boiling I added the squash, turned the heat down and let it simmer for about 20 minutes. I tasted it for seasoning and then stuck in the handy dandy stick blender and pureed until smooth.
Roasted Sunshine Squash Soup

Roasted Sunshine Squash Soup

Can you see that color – now I see why its called sunshine! And the squash is very sweet, smooth, and not stringy. I need to go scout some more of these babies out at the FM on Sunday!
1 Response to “Vegan Pancakes, Oh My!”


  1. 1 Mandee February 10, 2009 at 1:52 am

    Great lookin’ pancakes! I always want more once I’ve finished, too!


Leave a Reply

