Tofu Scramble – I Can’t Believe We Just Met…

I have to admit that breakfast/brunch is easily my favorite meal category. I’ve always loved to wake up on the weekends and make a big scramble with potatoes, eggs, veggies, and practically everything in the fridge, throw it in a tortilla, add hot sauce and I’m happy! I thought those days were over now because I am not eating eggs or cheese anymore. Much to my surprise, I am happy to report that is not the case – enter the tofu scramble! 

So being a vegetarian for years and dining at a lot of vegetarian/vegan restaurants in LA, I am not going to sit here and tell you that I’ve never had tofu scramble, and good ones at that. I just have never made them myself.  Wow was I surprised when I followed the super easy recipe in Vegan With A Vengeance  for Tofu Scramble. Not only did it look like scrambled eggs, it tasted and had the texture of them too and its cruelty free! And as an added bonus, nutritional yeast tastes like cheese! I was in heaven! Take a look:

Tofu Scramble

Tofu Scramble

I had it with Field Roast’s Smoked Apple Sage sausages and toast. It all tasted fantastic and while I was taking the pictures I just wanted to eat it! Here’s a close-up:
What I really liked about this recipe is that it can be very easily changed up by adding different veggie/herbs/spices combos. I can’t wait to experiment! But just following the basic recipe it is really, really good. I mean I took the pictures, put the camera down and hoovered it! I can’t quite remember if I chewed before swallowing let alone be mindful of what I was doing – good thing I was alone… Here’s the result after several seconds if I recall correctly:
All Gone!

All Gone!

 
Looking at the pictures again is making me hungry! I need to run to the store to get some tortillas… Til next time.
0 Responses to “Tofu Scramble – I Can’t Believe We Just Met…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

