Vegan Cheese!

Pepper Crusted Cashew Goat Cheese

Pepper Crusted Cashew Goat Cheese

So as my tag line says, I love cheese and that has been my biggest challenge going vegan. I know there are many vegan “cheese” alternatives but all leave much to be desired. Much to my surprise and delight,  the April issue of Vegetarian Times  has several vegan cheese recipes and I jumped at the chance to try them. The one thing I can tell you about making nut cheeses is patience. They are not labor intensive but you need to have the patience to soak the nuts overnight, let it sit for 12 hours… Well, I can assure you the patience pays off! This cheese really does have the consistency of a soft spreadable cheese and has all the qualities I always enjoyed from cheese!

Cashew Nut Cheese

Cashew Nut Cheese

I joked around with the gf and told her when she came home tonight she might find me passed out, comatose, with an empty cracker box and a butter knife on my lap, this might indeed be the case…
If you like cheese and are vegan, I highly recommend you seach out this issue of VT and make some nut cheese!
8 Responses to “Vegan Cheese!”


  1. 1 blackkitt April 7, 2009 at 12:36 am

    OMG. That looks amazing!

  2. 2 Tami April 7, 2009 at 1:39 pm

    Wow, I just might have to try those recipes.
    That looks incredible!

  3. 3 Mandee April 7, 2009 at 10:56 pm

    Looks so good and I found the recipe online!

  4. 4 Alexandra Bornhoft April 8, 2009 at 12:20 am

    Hi–

    I’d like to talk to you about contributing to a new Citysearch vegan food blog. What’s the best way to contact you?

    Thanks!!

  5. 6 a-k April 10, 2009 at 12:41 am

    Beautiful cheese!

  6. 7 Melisser April 10, 2009 at 5:05 am

    Oh man, I REALLY want to try this!

  7. 8 trina April 17, 2009 at 11:04 pm

    Oh I’m so glad to hear a good report – those recipes looked really good. With your approval, I will seek the patience to try them.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

